Team Members

Michael Walker

Non-Executive Director

Michael Walker

Prof Michael Walker joined AWTG as a Non-Executive Director in 2013 with responsibility for Strategy, and leads the board in evaluating current and future business opportunities.

Michael spent over twenty years with Vodafone, latterly, as Group Research and Development Director before his retirement in 2009, where he had responsibility for R&D, intellectual property and technology standards worldwide. As a member of the Board of Vodafone Ventures, he also led technology innovation and managed engagement with start-up companies. Between May 2011 until September 2013, Michael was Head of School for Natural and Mathematical Sciences at King’s College London. He holds the Vodafone Chair in Telecommunications at Royal Holloway, University of London, as a part-time professor and is a director of the Royal Holloway Institute of Cyber Security Innovation. He was previously a member of the academic advisory board of the University of Karlsruhe, Germany.

Michael was the Chairman of the Board of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute between 2008 and 2011 and continues today as a board member. He also sits on the UK Government’s OFCOM spectrum advisory board. Michael is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, and has served as a member of Council. He was the President of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications for the term 2010-2011. In June 2009 he was awarded an OBE for his services to the telecommunications industry.